By OnMilwaukee Staff Writers   Published Oct 31, 2011 at 12:16 PM

The Milwaukee chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America Monday announced its postseason award winners.

Eight ballots were cast for each award, with the three points given for a first-place selection, two for second and one for third.

Most Valuable Player: Ryan Braun – Braun received all eight first-place votes after hitting .332 with 33 home runs and 33 stolen bases. He led the NL in slugging percentage (.597) and extra-base hits (77). Braun was the second player in franchise history to hit at least 30 home runs and steal 30 bases in one season.

Most Valuable Pitcher: John Axford (23 points) – Axford received seven first-place votes after going 2-2 with a 1.95 ERA and a franchise record 46 saves.

Top Newcomer: Nyjer Morgan (22 points) – Morgan beat out pitchers Zack Greinke and Shaun Marcum for the award, capping off a season in which he hit .304 with 37 RBI and 13 stolen bases.

Unsung Hero: Jonathan Lucroy (15 points) – Lucroy got the nod over Mark Kotsay, Jerry Hairston, Jr., Marco Estrada and Randy Wolf. He hit .265 with 12 homers and 59 RBI but his work behind the plate was highly-regarded by the pitching staff.

Good Guy Award: LaTroy Hawkins – Hawkins, recognized by the Brewers for his charitable efforts this season, beat out Casey McGehee and two-time winner Craig Counsell.